Our Team of Experts  A Multidisciplinary Approach

The field of sleep medicine crosses the boundaries of a number of medical specialties and disciplines. We maintain a multidisciplinary approach to diagnosing and treating sleep disorders. This strategy is key to successful treatment and improved patient care. Our team of physicians include the following specialists:

Dr. Fariborz Ashtyani – Director of Hackensack Sleep and Pulmonary Center – Director of Hackensack Sleep Center Partners and Chief, Interventional Pulmonary Medicine is board-certified in Sleep and Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine. He has been in practice for well over twenty years after training at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York.

He is an active member of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine”, the “American College of Chest Physicians”, and the Hackensack University Medical Center/John Theurer Cancer Center, as well as Hackensack Sleep Wake Institute.

Dr. Ashtyani has special expertise and training in the activation, programming and medical management of Upper Airway Stimulation / Inspire devices.


Kim JS, Hutter D, Ashtyani F. Endobronchial stenting after traumatic transbronchial rupture and surgical repair: how strong is the levy?   Chest 2006: 130(4):290S.

Shad AR, Ashtyani, F. Resection of massive endotracheal tumor using multiple interventional modalities.   Chest 2004:126(4):926S-927S.

Shad AR, Ashtyani, F. Enbloc resection of subglotttic endotracheal tumor in a patient with known anaplastic thyroid cancer.   Chest 2005: 128(4):485S.

Dr Deborah Goss

Dr. Deborah A. Hutter (Goss) – Associate Director is a board-certified Sleep Physician. She graduated from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey and Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. She specializes in Sleep, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine. She is a Fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians, and a member of the Society of Critical Care Medicine and the American Academy of Sleep Medicine.

Dr. Goss is an active member of Hackensack University Medical Center’s John Theurer Cancer Center, the Center for Maternal-Fetal Medicine and the Sleep-Wake Institute and was voted Top Doctor by 201 Health Magazine.

Dr. Goss has special expertise and training in activation, programming and medical management of Upper Airway Stimulation / Inspire devices.

  • Castle Connolly Medical Ltd; Top Doctor in Pulmonary, Sleep Medicine and Cancer Care 2015, 2016
  • Member of the Mid-Atlantic American Lung Association COPD Coalition
  • Medical Director, Hackensack University Medical Center Lung Cancer Screening Program
  • Grant Recipient from AstraZeneca for the Use of TeleHealth for COPD Education
  • Grant Recipient from The CHEST Foundation for the Use of Noninvasive Ventilation in Pregnancy
  • Patent Pending for a System and Methodology for Improving Medical Documentation and Healthcare
  • Medical Director for Bergen Community College Respiratory Therapy Program

Senja Tomovic M.D. is board certified by the Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery.

She received her Undergraduate Degree in Biology at the University of Chicago and her M.D. at Wayne State University School of Medicine Dr. Tomovic completed her residency in Head and Neck Surgery at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School.

Dr. Tomovic has specialized training and expertise of the implantation of the Inspire Upper Airway Stimulation System.

Dr. Georges Ghacibeh is an Epileptologist and the Director of Behavioral Health at Northeast Regional Epilepsy Group. He is a neurologist with special training and interest in seizures, Epilepsy and Sleep Medicine. Dr. Ghacibeh completed his Neurology residency at New York University followed by a two year fellowship in Behavioral Neurology, Epilepsy and Sleep Study Medicine at the University of Florida. He is board certified in Neurology, Clinical Neurophysiology and Sleep Medicine.

Dr. Ghacibeh specializes in the evaluation and treatment of patients with cognitive difficulties related to seizures and seizure activity that occurs during sleep. He was named one of The Best Doctors in America 2009-2010 and again in 2010-2011.